1. /
  2. Departments
  3. /
  4. Fee Schedules
  5. /
  6. Marriage License

Marriage License

(Florida State Statute Chapter 741)

The Criminal Justice Center is performing limited ceremonies outside, weather permitting. The East and West Branch locations can accommodate two guests, and it is highly encouraged to make an appointment.

Avoid driving and waiting in line. Click here to complete your marriage license application online.

Click Here for ceremony location addresses and pictures.

To obtain a marriage license, you must first complete the application process. This can be done online or in-person! Once the application has been submitted and paid for, the license must be validated. The license is only good for 60 days from the date it is issued. After the marriage ceremony, the license must be returned within 10 days to the Seminole County Clerk of Court to be recorded in the official records of Seminole County.

Marriage License and Ceremony Fees
  • The fee to obtain a marriage license is $86.00
    • The fee can be reduced to $61.00 if the parties provide proof of completing a premarital preparation course prior to applying for the marriage license (see Waiting Period)
    • Proof must be provided with an application at the time of payment in person or online.
    • Application fees will not be refunded.
  • The fee for a marriage ceremony is $30.00.
  • Optional services include the following (prices include tax):
    • Keepsake certificate – $10.70
    • Marriage ceremony photos via email – $20.00
    • Certificate and photo package – $26.75
  • No themes until further notice
Forms of Payment
  • We accept:
    • Cash
    • MasterCard, Visa, Discover, or American Express
      • There is a 3.5% convenience fee added to all credit card transactions
Requirements to Obtain a Marriage License
  • Both parties are at least eighteen (18) years of age or, if not 18,
    • then at least 17 years of age with the written consent of his/her parent or legal guardian(s), which is acknowledged by an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments and administer oaths;
      and
    • the older party to the marriage is not more than 2 years older than the younger party to the marriage
  • A completed Marriage Application
  • A valid driver license, state identification card, passport, or military identification card
  • Social Security number (applies to U.S. residents only)
  • Both parties must apply together virtually or in-person
  • If one or both parties are not fluent in English, a translator over the age of 18 with a valid ID will be required
  • If either party has been married previously, he/she must provide the exact date the last marriage ended. If the previous marriage ended within 30 days of applying for a marriage license, a certified copy of the Final Judgement of Divorce or Death Certificate would need to be provided
  • If the couple has children together born in Florida, they must fill out the Affirmation of Children Born in Florida form
  • Family Law Handbook Requirement:
    • Both parties are required to read the Family Law Handbook (Family Law Handbook Spanish Version), which acknowledges that each party has accessed the information contained within. 
    • Each party will also mark whether or not a Premarital Preparation Course was completed. This Statement is required in order for a Florida Marriage License to be issued, pursuant to FS 741.04(4)
  • Pursuant to FS 741.21, both parties must be in compliance regarding lineal consanguinity or blood relation.
Applying for a Marriage License
  • Avoid driving and waiting in line. Click here to complete your marriage license application online.
  • Once the application has been submitted, you must complete the application process in person at one of our locations or virtually.
  • To apply in person, visit one of our locations below, (click here for directions):
    • Criminal Justice Center: 8:00 am – 4:00 pm
    • Altamonte Branch: 8:30 am – 4:30 pm
    • Casselberry Branch: 8:30 am – 4:30 pm
  • If one or both parties are not fluent in English, a translator over the age of 18 with valid ID will be required
  •  Virtual Application Process: Review the information below, complete the online application and submit with payment as indicated:
    • Once your application is received, you will receive an email with instructions on validating your license virtually. You may also go to one of the locations listed above. Make sure your online application is complete and has been submitted with payment, (please note: Apple browsers do not work with our website, it is suggested that you use Google Chrome.)
    • Email required identification documents to marriage@seminoleclerk.org
    • Schedule an appointment by calling 407-665-4411 or 407-665-4360
    • Download the Zoom app by clicking here.
    • Both parties must be present and must appear within 5 minutes of the appointment time
    • If one or both parties are not fluent in English, they will have to come to one of the locations in person with a translator that is over the age of 18
    • Once the virtual process has been completed, you will receive your validated marriage license by email
  • The marriage license is only valid in the State of Florida and only for 60 days from the date issued as written on the license and ends on the expiration date written on the license.
Waiting Period before eligible to be Married
  • Florida Residents:
    • There is a 3-day waiting period to be married for couples who live in the state of Florida and have not provided proof of completing the premarital preparation course within one year prior to applying for the marriage license
    • The 3-day waiting period does not begin until after the couple comes together virtually or in-person to validate the marriage license
    • Florida couples wishing to avoid the 3-day waiting period must provide a certificate or printed letter from a premarital course provider indicating they have completed the course within one year prior to applying for a marriage license
    • A couple claiming hardship can appear at the Civil Courthouse at 301 North Park Avenue, Sanford, Florida (this location only), and petition a judge to waive the 3-day waiting period when applying for the marriage license in person
    • To locate an approved course provider, search the internet for Florida Premarital Course Providers
  • Non-U.S. Residents and Residents of Other States
    • If you would like to get married in Seminole county and both parties are not Florida residents, you can come to our office to purchase your marriage license and get married the same day.
    • If you prefer, you can buy the marriage license only and get married within the next 60 days anywhere in Florida
Marriage Ceremonies
  • Ceremonies at our locations will be performed by a Seminole County deputy clerk as authorized by Florida Statute.
  • Click Here for location addresses and pictures.
  • Each of our wedding ceremony locations have a private wedding room where family and friends can attend.
  • Walk-ins are welcome, however, appointments can be made to secure a date
    • Contact us to schedule an appointment and for group size limitations at 407-665-4300
  • Marriage Ceremony Officials authorized by Florida Law
    • Ordained clergy
    • Elders in communion with a church
    • All Florida judges
    • Florida Clerk of Court and their deputized employees
    • Notary Public of the State of Florida
After the Marriage Ceremony
  • The marriage license must be returned to the Seminole County Clerk’s office within 10-days of the ceremony.  You can return this to the following locations:

    • Records Center – 1750 E. Lake Mary Boulevard, Sanford, Florida 32773
    • Casselberry Branch – 376 Wilshire Boulevard, Casselberry, Florida 32707
    • Altamonte Springs Branch – 990 North State Road 434, Suite 1124,  Altamonte Springs, Florida 32714
    • Criminal Justice Center – 101 Eslinger Way, Sanford, Florida 32773
  • Upon receipt of the returned and executed marriage license, the Clerk’s office will record the license in the Official Public Records of Seminole County, Florida. Note: There will be no record of the marriage license until the license is recorded
  • The Clerk’s office will provide one certified copy of the marriage license to you at no additional charge
  • Additional certified copies of the marriage license may be obtained from any one of our locations with payment of $3.00 per copy. Copies may also be ordered online

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Website by MuniCreative