Civil Traffic Infraction Violations are non-criminal charges issued by law enforcement officers in the form of a citation, or traffic ticket. Depending on the violation, you may be allowed an extension of the “failure to comply date”, or in many cases, you may comply with the conditions of your citation in one or more of the following four ways:
The Seminole County Clerk’s Office is now accepting efiled documents in Traffic cases.
Traffic Infractions Violations
When cited with a Traffic Infraction Violation, individuals have 30 days from the date of the offense or violation to make an election unless the violation requires a mandatory court appearance.
Pay Civil Penalty
By electing this option, you will be required to pay the civil penalty in the amount authorized by law within 30 days of the date the citation.
Payment of the civil penalty is considered a conviction and points will be assessed, if applicable.
You will not be able to elect traffic school at a later date.
Payments can be made online, by calling 407-547-3318, or visiting one of our locations.
Elect Traffic School
If you do not hold a commercial driver’s license, have not elected defensive driving school in the last 12 months or more than 5 times in your lifetime, you may be eligible to elect to complete a Florida Driving Improvement Course. Please be advised, that if you are not eligible, and elect the school, the citation will result in an adjudication of guilt and points added to your license upon notification from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Alternately to paying online, you may visit one of our locations to pay the required civil penalty.
You will be given 60 days to complete the course and turn the certificate of completion into the Clerk’s Office; adjudication will be withheld and no points will be assessed.
If you fail to complete the course within 60 days, additional fees will be assessed, a suspension could be issued, points will be added to your license, and the election will remain on your driving record.
For a list of schools or to see if eligible, you can visit the FLHSMV website at www.flhsmv.gov.
Pursuant to F.S. 322.0261(4) the DHSMV will require drivers who were convicted of one of the following (in Florida or in another state while they held a Florida driver license) to attend a basic driver improvement course:
Passing a school bus when it displayed a stopped signal;
Racing on a highway;
Highway racing – spectator;
Reckless driving; or
Running a red light.
If the school option is elected and completed, points will be not be assessed and the DHSMV’s school requirement for these charges will be met.
You must include your name, citation number, complete mailing address and a phone number on your request.
Requests done in person will be given notice with the date, time, and location of hearing by the customer service clerk.
A notice with the date, time and location of hearing will be mailed to address on file or request if different for any requests received via mail, email or fax once the request is processed.
If you are unable to appear in person for your court date, you can file a notarized Affidavit of Defense in lieu of your appearance. You may also request in writing for a continuance of the hearing. These requests need to be received by our office no later than Monday at 4:30pm for hearings scheduled that same week to allow time to process and the Court to review.
Infractions requiring documentation
If you were cited for expired driver license, failure to display a valid driver license, expired tag, failure to possess a valid registration, or no proof of insurance, you must provide valid proof to the Clerk of Court when paying the citation.
If the proof shows the license, registration, or insurance were valid at the time of the stop, the charge will be dismissed upon payment of a $10 dismissal fee.
If the proof does not show the license, registration, or insurance were valid at the time of the stop, you will need to pay the full statutory penalty.
You can go to the police department or sheriff’s office and have an officer certify on the Affidavit of Compliance (located on the back of the citation) that the defect was corrected.
Provide the Clerk’s Office with the Affidavit and pay the reduced penalty of $96.
Child Restraint Citations
You may elect to attend a child restraint class if this is your first violation.
You will need to sign an Affidavit and pay $20 in court costs
You will be given 90 days to complete the course and turn the certificate of completion in the clerk’s office.
If you fail to complete the school and turn in the certificate of completion, the full amount of the civil penalty plus late fees will be due and a suspension could be issued.
Violation F.S. 569.11(1) – Making it unlawful for any person under age 21 to knowing possess any tobacco product.
Violation F.S. 569.11(2) – Making it unlawful for any person under age 21 to misrepresent age or military service in order to acquire any tobacco product
Violation F.S. 877.112(b) – Possession of Nicotine Device
You have 30 days to notify the clerk one of these elections for the violations above:
You will need to (a) pay a civil penalty of $30 and complete an anti-tobacco program OR (b) complete 16 hours of community service and complete an anti-tobacco program. The civil penalty or community service and the anti-tobacco program must be received within 60 days from the date of your election.
Violation F.S. 386.212- Prohibits any person under the age of 21 from smoking on, in or near a school.
You will need to (a) pay a civil penalty in the amount of $30 OR (b) complete 50 hours of community service OR (c)complete an anti-tobacco program. The Clerk’s office must receive proof within 60 days from the date of your election
Wireless Communication Device Violations
First-time offenders of violating FS 316.306: wireless communication while driving in a school or work zone; can use one of the options below in lieu of paying the full amount of the civil penalty and receiving points:
Provide proof of purchase of equipment that enables personal wireless communications device to be used in a hands-free manner; upon proof to the clerk, the citation will be dismissed for an $18 dismissal fee. Examples of possible hands-free device are: Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit, Dash & Windshield Mount, Voice Activated Connect Car Kit.
Request for Extension
The Clerk’s Office is authorized to grant a one-time 30 day extension within 30 days of the date of citation.
If you request an extension, you are waiving your right to elect traffic school.
To verify final processing of your request and obtain the new due date, you may visit our website to view your court record online by entering your name or citation number.